Book now
Newsletter

New dishes on the menu, new cocktails, the DJ’s program… spice up your life by subscribing to our newsletter! Wish to be kept regularly informed of everything that happens in the Spoon restaurant as well as in the other restaurants of the Maison Ducasse Paris? Just enter your email address in the box below. By signing up, you agree to the personal data protection policy.

 

News

Quick catch-up of history and geography

The history of the routes followed by merchants to connect India to the Middle East is very old.

The oldest traces of the silk road date back to twenty centuries BC. It started from China and ended in Antioch, a now Turkish city, on the border with Syria. It is on this road (which started from the province of Shaanxi and passed through Xinjiang then between Samarkand and Kabul to finally cross Persia) that Marco Polo distinguished himself.

The incense route, also old, linked the ports of the West coast of India to those of the Arabian Peninsula, which the goods, once unloaded, crossed on camels.

From ancient times, the spice route followed roughly the same route and Egypt was the main player. From the 9th century, this spice trade passed into the hands of the Venetians and the Arabs. Then, this half-maritime, half-terrestrial route is in competition with the maritime route linking Europe to India via the Cape of Good Hope, opened by Vasco da Gama in 1498.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Summer closure

The restaurant is closed from August 1st to August 31st at lunch included

Réserver
Newsletter

De nouveaux plats à la carte, de nouveaux cocktails, le programme du DJ… Vous voulez être tenu informé de tout ce qui se passe dans le restaurant Spoon ainsi que dans les autres restaurants de la Maison Ducasse Paris ? Indiquez simplement votre adresse email dans la case ci-dessous. En vous abonnant vous acceptez la politique de confidentialité.

 

Actualité

Petit rattrapage d’histoire-géo

L’histoire des routes suivies par les marchands pour relier l’Inde au Moyen-Orient est très ancienne.

Les plus vieilles traces de la route de la soie remontent à vingt siècles avant notre ère. Elle partait de Chine et aboutissait à Antioche, ville aujourd’hui turque, à la frontière avec la Syrie. C’est sur cette route (qui partait de la province de Shaanxi et passait par le Xinjiang puis entre Samarcande et Kaboul pour enfin traverser la Perse) que s’est illustré Marco Polo.

La route de l’encens, aussi ancienne, reliait les ports de la côte ouest de l’Inde à ceux de la Péninsule arabique que les marchandises, une fois débarqués, traversaient à dos de chameaux.

Dès la haute antiquité, la route des épices suit à peu près le même trajet et l’Égypte en est l’acteur principal. À partir du 9e siècle, ce commerce des épices passe entre les mains des Vénitiens et des Arabes. Puis, cette route mi-maritime, mi-terrestre est concurrencée par la route maritime reliant l’Europe à l’Inde en passant par le Cap de Bonne espérance, ouverte par Vasco de Gama en 1498.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Fermeture estivale

Le restaurant est fermé du 1er au 31 août déjeuner inclus